Great Repentance prayer to Eighty-Eight Buddha – Part 8

The repentance prayer text continue thus;


Today, may all Bhagavan Buddha(s), take heed of me and remember me.


In front of all these Buddha(s), I declare as follow


If I have done any charity or observe any precept purely in this life or in my countless rebirths

Note: 3 types of Charities

  1. giving material – donate Money, food, clothing, labour (volunteering), etc
  2. giving Dharma – sharing with others the way towards enlightenment
  3. giving fearlessness – that means to offer something to allay the fear of others. For example rescuing a struggling animal from death. Accepting refugees.

Observe precepts purely means to practice the observance of Buddhist precepts concerning the guarding of our Action, speech and thought without any faults.

Purely means to have right motivation. That means we are observing those precepts with correct motivation. An example of bad motivation would be observing precepts very well but with an intention of gaining fame or regonition.


Even if it is just feeding an animal a small morsel of food.

Also note that the merit of charities and alms giving is a cure for misdeeds of stealing that we might have committed previously.

或修净行, 所有善根.

or perhaps if I had practiced any cultivation purely, then all virtuous root causes arising thus;

Note: Cultivation refers to nurturing of one’s mind towards Enlightenment. Many people misunderstood that Enlightenment is just about gaining wisdom. However, if you study the Buddha’s teaching, he mentioned that he had practiced the perfection of various virtues in his past countless rebirth. For example, the perfection of patience. Therefore, if we think we understand emptiness (thus we have wisdom) but we are still hot tempered and impatient, then something is wrong with our practice. Likewise, if you come across anyone stating that virtues and moral conduct are unimportant, then it is better to get a second opinion or get more alternate views from others.

Pure Cultivation also refers to the observance of Buddhist precepts. For example the 5 precepts, 8 precepts, 10 precepts, monastic precepts, Bodhisattva precepts etc.

Purely means we practice or observe them without a selfish motivation. It aslo means we practice without fault. For example, if we observe the precept to refrain from alcoholic drink, then we have to make sure we do not drink.

The word root causes is taken from the context of Karma. Whatever action, speech and thought we have is known as Karma. These karma are the primary cause of a future result, that will manifest when the conditions are present.

So root cause can also be understood as the primary cause of a future event.

成就众生, 所有善根。

or perhaps if I had helped beings with their accomplishment, then all virtuous root causes arising thus;

Note: Accomplishment here refers to accomplishing enlightenment or some other spiritual practices relating to attaining enlightenment or virtuousness.


or perhaps if I had practiced the path towards Enlightenment. all virtuous root causes arising thus,

Note: This refers to ourselves engaging in practices leading towards Enlightenment. For example generating Bodhicitta


or perhaps if I had practiced the cultivation of ultimate wisdom, then all virtuous root causes arising thus,

Cultivation of ultimate wisdom means cultivation towards Enlightenment. It also place emphasis on holding the right views and right understanding. For example holding the belief of Karma. It also include any aspiration of gaining supreme ultimate wisdom.


All these virtuous root causes, accumulated together, reckoned and measured,


I hereby dedicate towards Annutara Samyaksambodhi

Annutara Samyaksambodhi means unexcelled complete Enlightenment. Such enlightenment is attributable to the Buddha only.


Similar to the dedication made by past, present and future Buddha(s),

Likewise I follow their example and dedicate accordingly too.

In contrast to the verses in the previous post, the verses here recount any positive deeds that we might have done.

Also it is important to note that the verses here is a guide that teaches us what is considered positive karma.

End of part Eight.

Hope you enjoyed reading.

May all be auspicious, well and happy.

Please feel free to share and teach others who are interested too.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.