Practice giving and letting go. One gives wealth, Dharma and fearlessness. Wealth refers to any material of benefits (Example : Money, medicine, food etc)

Dharma refers to sharing and teaching the Buddhist knowledge to others.

Fearlessness means conducting ourselves so that we do not cause fear in others. (Example: by observing non-violence , we do not cause other beings to fear for their lives, by not stealing we do not cause other beings to fear losing their property) If our capability permits, we can also help rescue other beings from their source of fear.

Moral Ethics

Practice observation of the various Buddhist precepts. Such as the 5 precepts, the 10 wholesome precepts, the bodhisattva vows, the vajrayana vows etc.

This help us develop mindfulness over our actions, speech and thoughts. It strengthen our resolve to not harm ourselves and others.


Patience in dealing with ourselves and others: This refers to being patient in various situations and circumstances during the course of our spiritual practice and life.

Patience in actualisation of Truth and practice: This refers to being patient in our practice. For example, when we plant a seed, it needs time to sprout and grow. Likewise when we engage in Buddhist practice, we should not entertain thoughts of expecting instant results. Another example: Karma may not manifest instantaneously.


The attitude of constant application of zeal in our practice. Not to be discouraged in anyway. We can say it is being hardworking. We try and try without giving up on ourselves and others.

Meditative Concentration

This kind of concentration is not our ordinary focused mind. It is a sharp mental quality of one pointed focus concentration that arises from meditation.

Prajna Wisdom

This is Buddhist wisdom and not the ordinary wisdom of mundane affairs. Prajna wisdom is penetrating insights that breaks through delusions and perceive the ultimate reality / Truth.

3 types of Prajna

  1. Literature Prajna – This refers to Buddhist knowledge that we gain from studying Buddhist scriptures or listening to Buddhist sermons.
  2. Practice Prajna – This refers to familiarisation of the literature prajna through putting what we learn into practice. It then strengthen our understanding and in a way, the swirling cycle of practice and understanding propel and guide us in the right course or direction towards enlightenment.
  3. Realisation Prajna – this refers to the breaking of mental delusion while engaging in practice prajna. Our practice becomes so strong that it shatters the mental delusion that had become our habitual way of seeing. It is like waking up from the dream. This wisdom is non reversible.

Categories: Articles

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.